Home page > Other Facilities > ANDROMEDE > Organization




Sandrine COURTIN from Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert Curien ( UMR 7178 CNRS-UDS) was part of the Consortium Andromede through nuclear astrophysics carried by the partner of Andromede project A. Lefebvre-Schuhl from CSNSM at Orsay (CNRS UMR 8609 - Univ Paris-Sud). S. Courtin is the leader of the STELLA project, funded through the call IDEX 2015, attractive projects The team of the STELLA project brings together nuclear physicists and nuclear astrophysicist around the common goal of understanding the structural effects on nuclear fusion at low energies and their implications for nuclei-synthesis in massive stars by studying the reaction 12C + 12C and the carbon star combustion. The project will be located mainly around the French facilities Andromede and Spiral.


The collaboration with Texas A&M University continues around the Pegase facility at TAMU. An article about the nanoparticle-graphene interaction was published in 2015 : Michael J. Eller, Chao-Kai Liang, Serge Della-Negra, Aaron B. Clubb, Hansoo Kim, Amanda E. Young, and Emile A. Schweikert "Nanoparticle hypervelocity impacts on free-standing graphene : A sui generis form of sputtering," 29 January 2015, in Journal of Chemical Physics (Vol.142, Issue 4). Following this research, the new goal in the scope of Andromede, is to examine the parameters of the secondary ion emission from nano-scale objects (NP) of less than 50 nm and to define a new characterization method using massive projectiles. The relationship between the impact parameter of NP and the emission yield of protons will be studied by characterizing the effects of the Coulomb repulsion. Indeed the anisotropy and the multiplicity of the detected protons are important factors in the localization of the impact with the proton emission microscope. Finally, achieving sufficient accuracy on the emission yields taking into account the structure of the surface would be a significant step forward by allowing semi-quantitive measurements.

In this context Professor EA Schweikert’s team received an additional NSF grant to cover the expenses from 2015 to2017 to come and realize experiments on these topics with the Andromede facility.

Project organization

The monitoring board

It has met twice a year during the ANDROMEDE construction and installation phase and consisted of the following members :

  • Faiçal Azaïez then Bruno Espagnon, IPN Orsay directors,
  • Etienne Augé, Paris Sud University vice-president,
  • Alain Brunelle, external member from the ICSN at Gif sur Yvette,
  • Odile Stephan, external member from LPS of the Paris-Sud University,
  • Valérie Chambert then Bruno Espagnon, in charge of the Instrumentation and Computers Department,
  • Catherine Salou, responsible for the Administration,
  • Saïd Essabaa then Sébatien Bousson, in charge of the Accelerators Department,
  • Fadi Ibrahim, in charge of the Research Department,
  • Jean-François Le Du, responsible for the prevention and radiation protection Department,
  • Véronique Poux, project manager officer,
  • Evelyne Cottereau then Jean Lesrel, technic responsible,
  • Serge Della-Negra, scientific responsible.

The Project organization structure

The last project organization chart is the following :


During the project years, a consortium composed of the initial partners of the Andromede project along with more recent collaborators having joined the project after its launching. The group leaders of the different partners of the Andromede project sit on the consortium committee under the presidency of the scientific leader. This committee has met twice a year in relation to the board committee. Its role was to make sure that the technical choices were in phase with the aims set within the project. It has also set the scientific aims to prepare the first experiments during the construction phase. Following the commissioning, it continues and proposes the evolution of the project and the instrument according to the future research subjects. It is used as a support to the users committee which defines and selects the experimental program at Andromede. Below, members on 2016.



Jean Lesrel
Véronique Poux
Serge Della-Negra


Endotoxines team : Structures et Activités et start-up LPSBiosciences
de l’Institut de Génétique et Microbiologie

Martine Caroff
Luis Augusto
Pierre Tisssieres
Alexey Novikov

"Exobiologie" team of Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale

Donia Baklouti
Rosario Brunetto
Emmanuel Dartois
Louis d’Hendecourt

Groupe Couches et Amas dans les Noyaux de Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert Curien de Strasbourg

Sandrine Courtin

Team of Chimie Inorganique de l’ICMMO

Vincent Huc

Astrophysic nuclear team of CSNSM

Anne Lefebvre –Schuhl

Industrial - OrsayPhysics

Arnaud Houel


Equipe astrophysique du Solide du CSNSM

Cécile Engrand
Jean Duprat




Institut de Physique Nucléaire Orsay - 15 rue Georges CLEMENCEAU - 91406 ORSAY (FRANCE)
UMR 8608 - CNRS/IN2P3

Ce site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants Firefox, Chrome, Internet explore 9