Top

Home page > Scientific and technical activities > Accelerator technology & physics > High power superconducting linacs > SPIRAL-2 @GANIL

SPIRAL-2 @GANIL

"SPIRAL2 is a new European facility to be built at the GANIL laboratory in Caen, France. The project aims at delivering rare (radioactive) isotope beams with intensities not yet available with present machines. SPIRAL2 will reinforce the European leadership in the field of nuclear physics based on exotic nuclei"

ESFRI roadmap 2006

sp2

The SPIRAL2 project is based on a multi-beam driver in order to allow both ISOL and low-energy in-flight techniques to produce Radioactive Ion Beams (RIB). A superconducting light/heavy-ion linac with an acceleration potential of about 40 MV capable of accelerating 5 mA deuterons up to 40 MeV and 1 mA heavy ions up to 14.5 MeV/u is used to bombard both thick and thin targets. These beams could be used for the production of intense RIB by several reaction mechanisms (fusion, fission, transfer, etc.) and technical methods (ISOL, IGISOL, recoil spectrometers, etc.).

sp2linac

The SPIRAL2 linear accelerator is presently in its final construction phase, with first beams planned end 2014. As a major partner, IPN Orsay is heavily committed in the design study and the construction of the SPIRAL2 facility. As far as the linac driver is concerned, the Accelerator Department has the responsibility of the following work packages :

 


 

IPN

Institut de Physique Nucléaire Orsay - 15 rue Georges CLEMENCEAU - 91406 ORSAY (FRANCE)
UMR 8608 - CNRS/IN2P3

Ce site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants Firefox, Chrome, Internet explore 9

Retour haut de page

Rechercher

Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS


Séminaires

« avril 2017 »
L M M J V S D
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Accueil du site > Activités scientifiques et techniques > Physique & technologie des accelérateurs > Linacs supras haute intensité > SPIRAL-2 @GANIL

SPIRAL-2 @GANIL

"SPIRAL2 is a new European facility to be built at the GANIL laboratory in Caen, France. The project aims at delivering rare (radioactive) isotope beams with intensities not yet available with present machines. SPIRAL2 will reinforce the European leadership in the field of nuclear physics based on exotic nuclei"

ESFRI roadmap 2006

sp2

SPIRAL2 représente une avancée importante pour la recherche sur les noyaux exotiques, il permettra d’explorer davantage la carte des noyaux et ainsi de découvrir de nouvelles propriétés de la matière. Au coeur de la future machine, un accélérateur linéaire supraconducteur, capable d’accélérer 5 mA de deutons jusqu’à 40 MeV et 1 mA d’ions lourds jusqu’à 14.5 MeV/u, est utilisé pour délivrer des faisceaux parmi les plus intenses du monde et bombarder une cible de matière. Les réactions induites (fission, transfert, fusion...) engendrent des milliards de nouveaux noyaux. Extraits, triés, accélérés, les noyaux les plus intéressants sont assemblés en faisceaux qui permettront des expériences inédites. SPIRAL2 ouvre ainsi de nouveaux horizons à la physique nucléaire ainsi qu’à d’autres disciplines scientifiques grâce à cette nouvelle plateforme multifaisceaux à la pointe de la technologie.

sp2linac

L’accélérateur linéaire de SPIRAL2 est aujourd’hui dans sa phase de construction finale, les premiers faisceaux sur site étant prévus fin 2014. En tant que partenaire majeur, l’IPN Orsay est particulièrement impliqué dans la conception, la construction et la mise en service de cette machine. En ce qui concerne les activités liées au développement de l’accélérateur linéaire, la Division Accélérateurs a la responsabilité des lots de travaux suivants :

 


 

IPN

Institut de Physique Nucléaire Orsay - 15 rue Georges CLEMENCEAU - 91406 ORSAY (FRANCE)
UMR 8608 - CNRS/IN2P3

Ce site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants Firefox, Chrome, Internet explore 9