Top

Home page > Scientific and technical activities > Astrophysics > Nuclear astrophysics

Nuclear astrophysics

Our actual knowledge in stellar evolution and element synthesis in the Universe is at the heart of nuclear astrophysics field. The latter is interdisciplinary by excellence and it is enriched by the research performed in nuclear physics and astrophysics modeling as well as astronomic observations. Three important nucleosynthesis sites were identified : the Big-Bang responsible of the production of light elements (A < 8), the stars (non-explosive and explosive nucleosynthesis) responsible of the production of most elements observed in the Universe and finally the interaction of cosmic rays with the interstellar medium.
The nuclear reactions involved in these astrophysics sites and particularly in stars are extremely difficult to measure because of the very low cross sections and/or the radioactive nature of the concerning isotopes, often far from the valley of stability.
Improving our knowledge of nucleosynthesis processes occurring in the Universe requires on the one hand more precise astronomical observations and on the other hand a better knowledge of the nuclear properties (masses, decay half-life, density level, energy localization of the levels, their spin-parity assignment and their decay mode) of the nuclei involved in these processes.

The IPNO nuclear astrophysics group is involved in the study of stellar nucleosynthesis in different astrophysics sites using the present existing facilities (Tandem/ALTO, GANIL) and the indirect methods such as transfer reactions.

In the past few years, the main topics that were studied are the following:

• Massive stars and 26Al nucleosynthesis

• Big-Bang nucleosynthesis and the 7Li cosmological problem

• 60Fe destruction and the 60Fe(n,γ)61Fe reaction

• Massive stars and 12C(α,γ)16O reaction

• Classical novae and 26Al nucleosynthesis

• AGB stars and 13C(α,n)16O reaction
 



 

IPN

Institut de Physique Nucléaire Orsay - 15 rue Georges CLEMENCEAU - 91406 ORSAY (FRANCE)
UMR 8608 - CNRS/IN2P3

Ce site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants Firefox, Chrome, Internet explore 9

Retour haut de page

Rechercher

Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS


Séminaires

« mai 2017 »
L M M J V S D
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4

Accueil du site > Activités scientifiques et techniques > Astrophysique > Astrophysique nucléaire

Astrophysique nucléaire

La nucléosynthèse des éléments présents dans l’Univers est une problématique clef en astrophysique nucléaire. Ce domaine est par essence interdisciplinaire et est enrichi par les développements incessants en physique nucléaire, en modélisation astrophysique ainsi que par les observations astronomiques. Trois sites de nucléosynthèses principaux ont été identifiés : le Big-Bang responsable de la production des éléments légers (A < 8), les étoiles (nucléosynthèse non-explosive et explosive) responsables de la majorité des éléments observés dans l’Univers, et enfin l’interaction du rayonnement cosmique avec le milieu interstellaire. Les réactions nucléaires impliquées dans ces sites astrophysique et en particulier dans les étoiles sont extrêmement difficiles à mesurer à cause des très faibles sections efficaces mises en jeu et /ou la nature radioactive des isotopes concernés, souvent loin de la vallée de la stabilité.

L’amélioration générale de nos connaissances sur la nucléosynthèse à l’œuvre dans l’Univers exige d’une part des mesures astronomiques de plus en plus précises et d’autre part une meilleure maîtrise des propriétés nucléaires (masses, durée de vie, position en énergie des niveaux ainsi que leur spin et parité et leur mode de décroissance) des noyaux impliqués dans les processus à l’œuvre.

Le groupe astrophysique nucléaire de l’IPN est impliqué dans l’étude de la nucléosynthèse dans différents sites astrophysiques en utilisant les installations existantes comme le Tandem/ALTO et GANIL et des méthodes de mesures indirectes telles les réactions de transfert.

Les sujets principaux qui ont été étudiés ces dernières années sont :

• Les étoiles massives et la nucléosynthèse de l’ 26Al

• La nucléosynthèse primordiale et le problème du 7Li cosmologique

• la destruction du 60Fe et la réaction 60Fe(n,γ)61Fe

• Les étoiles massives et la réaction 12C(α,γ)16O

• Les novae classiques et la nucléosynthèse de l’ 26Al
 
• Les étoiles AGB et la réaction 13C(α,n)16O





 

IPN

Institut de Physique Nucléaire Orsay - 15 rue Georges CLEMENCEAU - 91406 ORSAY (FRANCE)
UMR 8608 - CNRS/IN2P3

Ce site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants Firefox, Chrome, Internet explore 9