Top

Home page > Scientific and technical activities > Astrophysics

Astrophysics

Various groups of IPN are involved in research fields related to astrophysics. They are looking for
answers to important questions such as the origin of the elements in the Universe, the origin of the interstellar molecules and the source of the very high energy cosmic rays. They are also trying to understand the matter properties in the core of supernovae as well as in neutron stars.

Some works are based on theoretical models, but most of them are based on experiments, with accelerators such as the ALTO and GANIL facilities, but also with astroparticle detectors such as the Pierre Auger Observatory and the CTA Observatory.

Crab Nebula

Image : Crab Nebula (colour composite). The green light corresponds mostly to hydrogen emission in the supernova remnant. The blue light originates from synchrotron emission of relativistic electrons, which are accelerated in the pulsar and its nebula.


 

IPN

Institut de Physique Nucléaire Orsay - 15 rue Georges CLEMENCEAU - 91406 ORSAY (FRANCE)
UMR 8608 - CNRS/IN2P3

Ce site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants Firefox, Chrome, Internet explore 9

Retour haut de page

Rechercher

Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS


Séminaires

« mai 2017 »
L M M J V S D
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4

Accueil du site > Activités scientifiques et techniques > Astrophysique

Astrophysique

Plusieurs groupes de l’IPN sont impliqués dans des domaines de recherche liés à l’astrophysique. Ils cherchent les réponses à des questions aussi diverses que l’origine des éléments dans l’univers, l’origine des molécules interstellaires, et les sources des rayons cosmiques dans l’univers. Ils essaient également de comprendre les propriétés de la matière dans le coeur des supernovae et des étoiles à neutron.

Certaines recherches sont basées sur des modèles théoriques, mais la plupart utilisent des expériences réalisées auprès d’accélérateurs tels que le GANIL ou ALTO, mais aussi des détecteurs de rayons cosmiques tels que l’Observatoire Pierre Auger et l’Observatoire CTA.

Crab Nebula

Image : Nébuleuse du Crabe en couleurs composites. Le vert correspond principalement à l’émission de l’hydrogène dans les éjecta de la supernova. Le bleu correspond à l’émission synchrotron d’électrons relativistes, accélérés par le pulsar et sa nébuleuse.


 

IPN

Institut de Physique Nucléaire Orsay - 15 rue Georges CLEMENCEAU - 91406 ORSAY (FRANCE)
UMR 8608 - CNRS/IN2P3

Ce site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants Firefox, Chrome, Internet explore 9