Top

Home page > Scientific and technical activities > Instrumentation and Computing Department > R&D Detectors > RDD department projects > AUGER PRIME

Logo Auger {GIF}

AUGER PRIME

 

 

Principle

Fig.1 : the surface scintillator detector on top of the water-Cherenkov tank for the Auger upgrade

Fig.2 : test bench for the light yield measurements as a function of the temperature

 

Fig. 3. : a fiber bundle of 96 pieces, fiber ends polished with machine. With this design, further holes can be drilled in case one of the fibers breaks and needs to be changed

The Pierre Auger Observatory upgrade foresees the installation of Scintillator-based Surface Detectors (SSD) placed above the Water-Cherenkov Detectors (WCD) to add an extra measurement of the particles in the Extensive Air Showers (EAS) independent of the measurements made with the WCDs, fig.1. The SSD has to be reliable, easy to realize and install, and has to have minimal maintenance when working in the Pampa for a lifetime of 10 years. The present design of the Scintillator Surface Detectors basic unit consists of two modules of ≈ 2m2 plastic scintillator, which are read-out by wavelength-shifting (WLS) optical fibers coupled to a single photo-detector. The active part of each module is a scintillator plane made by 24 bars 1.6m long of extruded polystyrene scintillator. Each bar, 1cm thick and 5cm wide, is equipped with two holes along the bar length to host the optical fiber needed to collect the scintillation light on the photo-detector.

As part of the R&D phase of the SSD, we realized a small cosmic ray telescope to test many scintillator/fiber combinations in order to select these providing the highest light yield per MIP. More in detail, we tested casted and extruded scintillators, from different vendors (GNKD from China and FNAL from US), with different geometry and cross sections (holes and grooves), and coupled with different optical fibers (Kuraray Y11(200)MSJ diam 1.0mm, Saint-Gobain BCF91A diam 1.2mm and Saint-Gobain BCF9929AMC diam 1.2mm).

As part of the R&D phase of the SSD, we realized a small cosmic ray telescope to test many scintillator/fiber combinations in order to select these providing the highest light yield per MIP. More in detail, we tested casted and extruded scintillators, from different vendors (GNKD from China and FNAL from US), with different geometry and cross sections (holes and grooves), and coupled with different optical fibers (Kuraray Y11(200)MSJ diam 1.0mm, Saint-Gobain BCF91A diam 1.2mm and Saint-Gobain BCF9929AMC diam 1.2mm).

Since the SSD will be installed in the field in Argentina, experiencing a temperature excursion between -5°C and + 40°C, for a selected number of detector’s configurations, we studied the effect of the temperature variations on the light yield, with the use of a climate chamber. The experimental set-up used for this study is presented in fig.2.

.

In the framework of the SSD development, we proposed as well a mechanical solution to couple the optical fiber bundle to the PMT entrance window, fig. 3.

 

Contact  : G. Hull

Publications and reports :

Links :


 

IPN

Institut de Physique Nucléaire Orsay - 15 rue Georges CLEMENCEAU - 91406 ORSAY (FRANCE)
UMR 8608 - CNRS/IN2P3

Ce site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants Firefox, Chrome, Internet explore 9

Retour haut de page

Rechercher

Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS


Séminaires

« janvier 2017 »
L M M J V S D
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5

Accueil du site > Activités scientifiques et techniques > Division Instrumentation et Informatique > R&D Détecteurs > Projets du service RDD > AUGER PRIME

Logo Auger {GIF}

AUGER PRIME

 

 

Principe

Fig.1 : le détecteur de scintillateurs de surface au-dessus de la cuve à eau Cherenkov pour l’Upgrade d’Auger


Fig.2 : banc de test pour les mesures de lumière en fonction de la température


Fig. 3. : un paquet de 96 fibres optiques, polies en bout avec une machine. Avec ce principe, des trous peuvent être percés si une fibre optique est cassée et nécessite d’être changée

L’Upgrade de l’Observatoire Pierre Auger prévoit l’installation de scintillateurs, appelés SSD pour Scintillators Surface Detectors, placés au-dessus des détecteurs Cherenkov (WCD pour Water Cherenkov Detector). Ils ont pour but d’ajouter une mesure supplémentaire des particules issues des rayons cosmiques (appelés EAS) et cela indépendamment des mesures faites avec le WCDs (image 1). Le SSD doit être fiable, facile à réaliser et installer et doit nécessiter une maintenance minimale en fonctionnement dans la Pampa pour une durée de fonctionnement de 10 ans. Dans l’actuelle conception des SSD, l’unité de base est composée de deux modules de 2m2 de scintillateurs plastiques, qui sont lus par une des fibres optiques à décalage de longueur d’onde (WLS pour Wavelength Shifting) couplées à un simple photo-détecteur. La partie active de chaque module est un plan de scintillateurs en polystyrène extrudé composés de 24 barres de 1.6m de long. Chaque barre, de 1cm d’épaisseur et de 5cm de large, est équipée de deux trous le long de la barre pour accueillir la fibre optique nécessaire pour transmettre la lumière vers le photo-détecteur.

Dans le cadre de la phase R&D du SSD, nous avons réalisé un petit télescope pour rayon cosmique afin de tester plusieurs combinaisons scintillateur/fibre optique et choisir ceux fournissant le rendement lumineux le plus haut par MIP. Nous avons testé des scintillateurs extrudés et moulés, de vendeurs différents (GNKD de la Chine et FNAL des États-Unis), avec des géométries et des sections différentes (avec des trous et des rainures) et nous les avons couplés avec différentes fibres optiques (Kuraray Y11 (200) MSJ diam 1.0mm, Saint-Gobain BCF91A diam 1.2mm et Saint-Gobain BCF9929AMC diam 1.2mm).

 Comme le SSD sera installé dans la Pampa en Argentine, où il y a des températures allant de-5°c à + 40°C, pour une sélection des configurations de détecteurs, nous avons étudié l’effet des variations de température sur le rendement lumineux, grâce à une chambre climatique. La configuration expérimentale utilisée pour cette étude est présentée sur l’image 2.

Dans le cadre du développement du SSD, nous avons proposé aussi une solution mécanique afin de coupler le paquet de fibres optiques aux fenêtres d’entrée de PMT, (image 3).

 

Contact  : G. Hull

Publications et rapports :

Liens :


 

IPN

Institut de Physique Nucléaire Orsay - 15 rue Georges CLEMENCEAU - 91406 ORSAY (FRANCE)
UMR 8608 - CNRS/IN2P3

Ce site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants Firefox, Chrome, Internet explore 9